Skip to content

*Postponed* Afternoon Tea at the Black Horse with Louise Hare

Event start date

to

Location

The Black Horse, Dog Kennel Lane, Chorleywood, WD3 5EG

Event description

Afternoon Tea at the Black Horse with Louise Hare.

Tuesday May 19th -2pm

We are looking forward to our first event at the newly refurbished Venue, The Black Horse in Chorleywood.

Louise Hare's new debut novel "This Lovely City" is a poignant, conversation-starting book club novel set around Brixton’s Windrush community, exploring themes of race, parenthood, poverty, community and the schisms in post-war London society.

Louise Hare is a major new talent. She has an MA in Creative Writing from Birkbeck, University of London and was shortlisted for the Lucy Cavendish prize, which supports unpublished female authors. Louise has been described as "the Best Debut novelist of 2020" by the Observer.

With the Blitz over and London reeling from war, jazz musician Lawrie Matthews has answered England’s call for help. Fresh off the Empire Windrush, he’s taken a tiny room in south London lodgings, and has fallen in love with the girl next door. Touring Soho’s music halls by night, pacing the streets as a postman by day, Lawrie has poured his heart into his new home – and it’s alive with possibility. Until, one morning, he makes a terrible discovery.

This book is perfect for fans of Zadie Smith, Andrea Levy and Sarah Waters. Bring your friends for a fun afternoon to meet Louise and learn about her successful new debut book.

Tea and Cake included in the price of your ticket.

Tickets £15 entry and a copy of This Lovely City RRP £12.99 plus tea and cake. Mums and Dads with babes in arms most welcome. Event will finish at 3.15pm for those on the school run.

Available from www.chilternbookshop.co.uk or Chorleywood Bookshop 01923 283566

Location


Still not loaded? Try reloading the page.
If you're still having trouble, call on 020 3769 7359.
The Black Horse, Dog Kennel Lane, Chorleywood, WD3 5EG

Share buttons

Share event

Invite friends

Or share the following link directly:

https://tickets.mp/ZXZlbnQ6MTI1MA==

This event has already happened.

This event finished and tickets are no longer available.

Explore more events

This event has already happened.

This event finished and tickets are no longer available.

Explore more events

*Postponed* Afternoon Tea at the Black Horse with Louise Hare

Key image for event

Details

Event name
*Postponed* Afternoon Tea at the Black Horse with Louise Hare
Start date
to
Location
The Black Horse, Dog Kennel Lane, Chorleywood, WD3 5EG

Description

Afternoon Tea at the Black Horse with Louise Hare.

Tuesday May 19th -2pm

We are looking forward to our first event at the newly refurbished Venue, The Black Horse in Chorleywood.

Louise Hare's new debut novel "This Lovely City" is a poignant, conversation-starting book club novel set around Brixton’s Windrush community, exploring themes of race, parenthood, poverty, community and the schisms in post-war London society.

Louise Hare is a major new talent. She has an MA in Creative Writing from Birkbeck, University of London and was shortlisted for the Lucy Cavendish prize, which supports unpublished female authors. Louise has been described as "the Best Debut novelist of 2020" by the Observer.

With the Blitz over and London reeling from war, jazz musician Lawrie Matthews has answered England’s call for help. Fresh off the Empire Windrush, he’s taken a tiny room in south London lodgings, and has fallen in love with the girl next door. Touring Soho’s music halls by night, pacing the streets as a postman by day, Lawrie has poured his heart into his new home – and it’s alive with possibility. Until, one morning, he makes a terrible discovery.

This book is perfect for fans of Zadie Smith, Andrea Levy and Sarah Waters. Bring your friends for a fun afternoon to meet Louise and learn about her successful new debut book.

Tea and Cake included in the price of your ticket.

Tickets £15 entry and a copy of This Lovely City RRP £12.99 plus tea and cake. Mums and Dads with babes in arms most welcome. Event will finish at 3.15pm for those on the school run.

Available from www.chilternbookshop.co.uk or Chorleywood Bookshop 01923 283566


Share event

Invite friends

Or share the following link directly:

https://tickets.mp/ZXZlbnQ6MTI1MA==

This event has already happened.

This event finished and tickets are no longer available.

Explore more events

This event has already happened.

This event finished and tickets are no longer available.

Explore more events